## **Occupational Health**

## SPECIAL INTEREST GROUP

## OHSIG Moves Forward

Since CSM 2009 in Las Vegas, the Occupational Health Special Interest Group has experienced a bit of turmoil. We are pleased to announce however that we have re-grouped. We have the support of the Orthopaedic Section leadership, and can now move forward with OHSIG business at hand!

In light of these recent events, we would like to update our OHSIG members on where we are, what we are working on, and how you can participate.

Due to unforeseen circumstances, nominations for President and other positions did not get on the Orthopaedic Section fall 2008 electronic ballot. Subsequently, it was felt that the voting could take place at the next CSM during the SIG General Business Meeting. Unfortunately, as fate would have it, the current OHSIG President, Margot Miller, could not attend due to health issues and Steve Allison, OHSIG VP could not attend the 2009 CSM SIG meeting due to work.

At the SIG meeting, the remaining board members were able to facilitate discussions attempting to complete OHSIG business at the General Business Meeting. Votes were taken for President and for the Membership, Education, and Nominating Committee Chair positions

As a result of recent SIG policy changes instituted in 2007, the Orthopaedic Section BOD deemed the election invalid. Bill O'Grady, the OHSIG Liaison to the Orthopaedic Section BOD, has been appointed OHSIG Interim President. Joe Kleinkort and Steve Allison resigned their OHSIG BOD positions due to business and personal reasons. Dee Daley has been appointed OHSIG VP/Ed Chair. Advisors were named including Rick Wickstrom, Gwen Simons, and Margot Miller.

Until the next election, voting members of the OHSIG governing board will be Bill O'Grady, Dee Daley, and one member of the Orthopaedic Section BOD. After the next election and according to the updated policies, the 3 voting members will be the SIG President and Vice President and the Orthopedic BOD liaison to OHSIG. Additionally, the new policies eliminate the OHSIG Treasurer and Secretary positions. Nonvoting members of OHSIG include the advisors: Rick Wickstrom, Gwen Simons, and Margot Miller; and Committee Chair persons: John Lowe, Nominating Committee; Drew Bossen, Practice and Reimbursement; Kathy Rockefeller, Research; and Rick Wickstrom, Membership.

The first OHSIG BOD call under Bill O'Grady's lead was held April 23, 2009. Participants included Bill O'Grady, Dee Daley, Rick Wickstrom, Gwen Simons, Margot Miller, Drew Bossen, Kathy Rockefeller, John Lowe, and Terri DeFlorian, Executive Director Orthopaedic Section, taking Minutes.

The current status of the OHSIG since CSM 2009 was presented. The new Governing Board, Advisors, and Committee Chairs were announced and the election process was discussed. The Nominating Committee has been instructed to solicit nominations for President and one Nominating Committee Member for the fall 2009 election. The OHSIG President will assume duties at CSM 2010. Dee Daley will assume VP/Ed Chair duties until the fall election 2010, with the new VP/Ed Chair assuming duties at CSM 2011.

A motion was made to approve the letter written to several researchers related to concerns the researchers had regarding the FCE Revised Guidelines. They had objected to our description of the guidelines as "evidence-based." We responded that their conclusion that the guideline was developed using an "expert based/consensus based methodology rather than an evidence-based methodology" was correct. We thanked them for the feedback and agreed that we would change the wording to reflect this. The letter has gone out and we have received a very cordial response from the researchers.

The next motion was made to nominate Gwen Simons and Jeremy Skoog to the Nominating Committee. Gwen will serve on the committee for the fall 2009 election only. Jeremy Skoog would serve a 3-year term on the Nominating Committee. John Lowe would serve as Nominating Committee Chair through the fall election 2010. Motion approved.

The final motion was made for those appointed as Committee Chairs at CSM to become committee members. This included Lorena Pettit, Education; Janet Peterson, Member-

It was agreed that Dee Daley would represent OHSIG at the Orthopaedic Section Strategic Planning meeting in La-Crosse Oct 8-10, 2009.

We have much work to do on behalf of OHSIG members and we are ready to move forward! Dee Daley and Margot Miller will take the lead for Occupational Health specialization/certification. Rick Wickstrom and Janet Peterson will be tasked to do the revisions on the Ergonomics Guidelines. Gwen Simmons will do the revisions on the Legal Guidelines and John Lowe and Dee Daley will spearhead the Work Rehab revisions. Plans are underway for a 2009 Summer Working Session for OHSIG Board members. Over the next year, we look forward to opportunities for member involvement in reviewing updates of various Occupational Health Guidelines. We will keep you informed of our progress and look forward to a productive year!

Submitted on behalf of OHSIG by Margot Miller, Dee Daley, and Bill O'Grady