Greetings OHSIG Members!

I want to thank Joe Kleinkort and Dee Daley for coordinating various meetings at CSM Las Vegas, since I was unable to attend due to knee surgery. I thought I would include the minutes from the OHSIG General Business Meeting in this issue of OPTP, thinking our members would be interested in reading the minutes to find out what we are working on. The meeting was held at 7am, before our educational session—a challenge to say the least! We hope to find a better time for this meeting at CSM 2010. It's important to us that we give OHSIG members the opportunity to participate in the educational sessions and business meetings we have at CSM. We will work to find a better time next year! OHSIG is off to a great start for 2009. Read below!

Sincerely,

Margot Miller PT President OHSIG

Orthopaedic Section APTA OHSIG General Business Meeting Wed. 7-8am CSM Las Vegas 2009

Call to Order/ Welcome: Joe Kleinkort

- 1. President's Report Margot Miller was absent, report presented by Dee Dailey
 - Practice Analysis complete and in OPTP
 - Guidelines for FCE are complete and found on Ortho website under Occupational Health
 - ➤ WorkRehab Guideline in process of revision by John Lowe and Dee Daley
 - Ergo Guideline in process- Rick Wickstrom and Janet Peterson coordinating
 - ➤ Acute Care Guideline Update Robert Duvall and Lorera Petit coordinating
 - ➤ Legal- Gwenn Simons and John Lowe coordinating
 - > PT Role in Occ Health deferred until 2010
 - > Specialization in OH: There is general support for a certification process similar to Manual Therapy, possibly certification based on portfolio review without a written exam. Work with ABPTS is ongoing. Discussed

fellowship vs residency options for occ health. Margot Miller and Dee Daley coordinating.

- 2. Vice President's Report Steve Allison was absent, no report presented
- 3. Nominating Committee (John Lowe, Chair)
 - Nominating Committee- Gwen Simmons and Jeremy Skoog were appointed by unanimous consent, with John Lowe to continue functioning as Chair of the Nominating Committee.
 - Membership- Janet Peterson appointed by unanimous consent
 - ➤ Ed Chair Lorera Petit appointed by unanimous consent.
- 4. Membership Chair Rick Wickstrom
 - ➤ Updating FCE Guidelines are complete; working on plans to disseminate to chapters, licensing board, payers, etc.
 - ➤ Plan to develop liaison with each state chapter to help disseminate and educate about FCE guideline dissemination and other guide
 - ➤ Working on FCE powerpoint that any Occ Health SIG representative can present in person
 - ➤ Will investigate webinar presentation option for FCE guideline
- 5. Practice Chair- Drew Bossen
 - ➤ OSHA Region V and APTA Alliance
 - ➤ Multiple Safe Handling programs in 7 states
 - ➤ Margot Miller and Mary Fran Delaune are presenting at MN APTA Spring Conf, along with Dave Furkel from MN OSHA.
- 6. Research Chair Kathy Rockefeller
 - ➤ Worked with Dee to plan the education sessions for CSM.
- 7. Treasurer- Nicole Matoushek absent, no report submitted
- 8. Secretary- Joe Kleinkort
 - Time for conf calls May, Aug, Nov 1st Thurs 2PM EST
 - > Deadline for OPTP 26 Feb, 5 June, 21 Aug, 27 Nov
 - > Same deadline for President report
 - Considering a time for OHSIG BOD to meet this summer
- 9. Education- Dee Daley
 - ➤ Discussed possibility of Alan Hedge for 2010 CSM speaker
 - ➤ Discussed how to get most in audience attendance; Drew will help with WC-ICF and marketing.

Other business: Consider alternative time for Business Meeting to attract more members.

Meeting adjourned at 8am

Submitted,

Joe Kleinkort,PT, MA, Ph.D., CEASII, CIE, DAAPM Secretary OHSIG